Wingham Primary School

It’s all about the children

EYFS Curriculum

Our Early Years Foundation Stage at Wingham Primary School


We plan provision so that:


  • All children become confident, independent and enjoy learning and exploring.
  • Children develop a strong sense of self while also learning to play, negotiate and co-operate with others.
  • Children experience a broad and balanced curriculum reinforced by high quality teaching and learning that meets individual needs.
  • We work in partnership with parents so that parents are fully involved as their children’s first educators.


The children are taught and assessed under sections of the EYFS, set out below:


The prime areas of learning:


Communication and Language
Physical Development
Personal, Social and Emotional Development


The specific areas of learning:


Expressive Arts and Design



Understanding the World


The learning characteristics


  • Playing and Exploring
  • Active Learning
  • Creating and Thinking Critically


At the end of EYFS an EYFS Profile is completed for each child: it consists of 20 items of information. Each child is assessed in relation to the 17 Early Learning Goal (ELG) descriptors, together with a short narrative describing the child's three learning characteristics. Assessments are based primarily on observations of daily activities and events.


For each ELG, practitioners must judge whether a child is meeting the level of development expected at the end of the Reception Year (expected), exceeding this level (exceeding), or not yet reached this level (emerging).


More information can be found at